Daily Journey Journal #329: questionable sciences

From April 21, 2015

There are some things in life that people shouldn’t necessarily have an opinion about and some people might say that GMOs are one such thing. I, however, am someone who does have an opinion about them and have, until recently, classified myself as being against them. In my mind, the science simply hasn’t been around long enough to know the long term effects. What will they do to our bodies decades down the road? I’m also one of those people who doesn’t mind the birds and bugs bothering the garden. All natural is a ok with me.

Well, today my thoughts and perceptions about GMOs were challenged and I have to say, I have come to consider them in a different light.

As ashamed as I am to say it, I bought into a lot of the negative hype about GMOs without learning about the positive effects as well. While I don’t necessarily like some of the methods for creating GMOs, the results can be life-altering.

For instance, I learned today that in Ethiopia families spend 1200 hours a year weeding their gardens/farms. A lot of this work falls onto the shoulders of girls, who spend an equivalent of 35 complete days (24 hours per day) weeding a year. This takes away from the time they could be in school or doing other things. Plants that are resistant to weeds or other pests can help decrease this burden and open up other possibilities for these families and girls.

Stepping back and looking at GMOs from this perspective, I can appreciate the science and understand why many people believe that GMOs are necessary. For myself, I stand in the middle, concerned about the long-term impacts yet appreciative of the possibilities GMOs could hold for human life.

Snap your Thoughts Here

