Daily Journey Journal #273: printer possession

From February 24, 2015

Sometimes I think the printer in my office might be possessed by demons. Most of the time it sits, a great hulking beast of a thing, in the corner, quiet and content. And then, it is as if it decides things are simply too quiet and peaceful. There I am, working away, not needing or touching the printer at all and it feels the need to project itself into my awareness with a resounding rumble.  Soon it is snorting and snarling, whirling its gears, jostling the trays and lurching the internal mechanisms all about with much grinding and groaning. It lets out a roaring jitter, as if it is trying to tear something (like itself) into shreds and rumbles, vibrating the desk. Then, as suddenly as it started, it quiets down and falls back into slumber mode.

When I first started in the office, the printer worked just fine, but the demons have decided that I’m an old hand and can handle their weirdness. Now, on the occasions when I do need to print, the possessing demons seem to play eenie-meenie-miney-mo to decide which course the printer will take: loose the print job in translation, freeze, paper jams, conjure imaginary ink shortages, memory failure, or maybe, just maybe, print. Half the time, the print option wins, so I’m assuming the demons still feel bad for me being a relative newbie, but I’m sure that will wear off in due time. In the meantime, I’ve got to decide the best way to woo said demons so that the printer continues to simply growl and moan rather than self-destruct.

Hmmm…Cookies maybe?

Snap your Thoughts Here

