Daily Journey Journal #225: the challenge, the novelty, the charge

Starting a new experience, weather it is a job, project, hobby or something else, can be a mixed bag of emotions. There is the excitement in the newness, the frustration at not knowing or understanding everything, and that steep learning curve that leads you to the point of feeling accomplished and successful. The last three days I have been on such a roller coaster and I have to say, I am loving it. The new job provides a great challenge and an awesome opportunity for me to use my creativity and expand on it. Today especially, I feel thrilled about the position and the work I will be doing.

In addition to a new job, I also just joined a virtual book club at the start of the year. The group and our readings are meant to inspire, encourage and empower us. The book we are currently reading is called, The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive, by Brendon Burchard.

Normally, this wouldn’t be a book I would pick out, but I have found that I am immensely enjoying it. It is all about tapping into our internal selves to connect to ourselves and in doing so lead the lives we want to lead. Right now, as I am just getting the hang of my new position, and of being a young professional, I am finding this book to be quite helpful. It has great advice, asks insightful questions and most of all, helps me to see the way that I work as a person.

In the weeks ahead, as I being on the steep learning curve sure to be full of ups and downs, I hope that I can remember this very important tid-bit of information:

…the brain is hardwired to seek and enjoy novelty and challenge. Remember those two ingredients: novelty and challenge. You can have all the right fixings for an incredible life- love, respect, abundance, and so on – but without these two ingredients your recipe ends up as a bland soup of sadness and disengagement.

The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive, pg. 46

With that, let the challenge begin!

Snap your Thoughts Here

