30 Day Blogging Challenge, Day 7: 40 years to live

Prompt: How would you live your life differently if the average human life span was 40 years?

Forty years. Such a short amount of time in the grand scheme of things. There is so much we can accomplish in life, but it can’t all be done in four decades, can it? I don’t think so. Time gives us the luxury to live many lives, in a sense, to go through phases. Without so much time, that would be impossible.

If we had only 40 years to live, I would be more than half-way done with life, and that is a scary thought. There is still so much I hope to see, do and experience in life. Assuming nothing else in my life changed except that I had only 40 years to live, I would have to do some major evaluating of what I wanted in life (and do that evaluating at a really early age!). It seems that with half the life-span of what we currently have, I would have to pick one of two paths, because having both would be next to impossible: family or wandering? Unless, of course, I gave up doing almost all schooling and spent my early years traveling, then had a family, but I have to say, I would miss the education.

As it is, I do not think there is not much I would have changed about my life. I’ve wandered many paths, learned valuable lessons, met fantastic people, felt the full range of emotions and had beautiful experiences. I think that if I were to have to pick a path, I would be satisfied with this one, and perhaps would have embraced it a bit more, because there would be little need to worry so much about the future. Maybe I wouldn’t have come home from Korea so soon and instead spent more time in Asia, appreciating every second as much as possible. Maybe I never would have returned home at all.

The life of a wanderlust would be mine and such a grand adventure it would be.

 

 

 

 

 

Snap your Thoughts Here

