30 Day Blogging Challenge, Day 5: Caught by the Bug

Prompt: When you come down with a cold or the flu, do you stick to traditional methods of dealing with it, or are there unconventional remedies you use?

As a kid, I got sick all the time, especially in the winter. It wasn’t unusual for me to get multiple colds, the flu and strep at least a couple of times. I would miss days of school amounting to at least a two weeks over the course of several months, during which I laid on the couch, watching Harry Potter and taking medicine as regularly as possible.
As I’ve gotten older, my yearly illness quota has decreased, thank goodness, but so too has my tolerance for medication. I am a complete light weight and it doesn’t take very much cough syrup to make me loopy. Likewise, antibiotics generally throw my system through such an ordeal that it takes weeks for me to feel normal again, even after the initial symptoms have disappeared.
So, in light of these reactions, I try to avoid taking medication as much as possible. Instead, I rely on sleep, sleep, Harry Potter, sleep, tea and more sleep to get better. I am one of those people who tends to push myself beyond my limits, which is why I get sick in the first place. So, it seems like getting sick is my body’s way of saying, “Hey! Stop being a jerk and rest, you weirdo. There is only so much an immune system can do and sleep is vital to that, in case you missed the memo!”
Generally, after a couple of days of almost none-stop sleeping and staying in bed, I am well enough to continue about life and avoid taking medicine at all, say for the occasional throat lozenge. Now, let me just cross my fingers and hope that this winter, I can skip this whole process all together and get enough rest before the bug catches me!

2 thoughts on “30 Day Blogging Challenge, Day 5: Caught by the Bug

  1. Sleep is definitely a big component of warding off colds and flu. I notice it more in my kids than in myself, but when you’re tired, you inevitable seem prone to catching everything that’s going around.

Snap your Thoughts Here

