Daily Journey Journal #202: finals nostalgia

From December 15, 2014

Today marks the start of finals week for many universities across the United States, including the one on my hometown. As A and I sat in the student union, mapping out a pros and cons list of options and considering the possibilities for our careers, I can’t help but feel an incredible sense of nostalgia. The sound of book pages turning in a frantic frenzy, the scribbling of notes, the smell of ink on the page, the late nights at the library and the sheer exhaustion every night, how I miss it all.

Life as a student seemed so intense when I was in the thick of it. The tests, the papers, the presentations and the projects, they all add up. But then, there is that beautiful, perfect respite, when everything is finished, all tasks accomplished and the impossible completed. I always loved this time of year and the incredible sense of freedom that came with being done for the semester. It felt like anything was possible.

Today, listening to students mill about in between tests, I realized how wonderfully simple that existence was, despite the intensity and stress of it all. It was a nice reminder that everything seems intense and difficult when you’re in the middle of it. Stepping back, however, can give you a whole new perspective.

4 thoughts on “Daily Journey Journal #202: finals nostalgia

  1. As someone on the other end of this–a student who just finished up my second to last finals week before I graduate–I am beginning to understand this feeling. There is so much stress involved with school, but at the same time I still have all this freedom from real world responsibilities, etc. I’ve been trying my best to enjoy it all before it’s over, but it’s not always easy to keep than in mind when it gets so busy!
    Love this post!

    • πŸ™‚ I totally get this! It always felt like life couldn’t be more complicated in school and then I started life after school πŸ˜› But, in some ways, not being in school is easier too. No homework, no pointless exams, just life after work. I really do miss school though. πŸ™‚

Snap your Thoughts Here

