Daily Journey Journal #180: family matters

From November 23, 2014

It was Saturday night, a storm was rolling in and we were hungry. My dad was out of town, so it was just A, my step-mom J, and me. What better to do, we decided, than order take-out Chinese and have my mum over for some family time?

Answer: Nothing.

Now, some people might find this situation odd, especially at first.  My friends at university sure did when I invited them to my mum’s birthday party at my dad’s house, which J had helped me plan. I will admit, it is a bit weird, but only because it isn’t the norm. For me, this family is more than I ever could have hoped for.

Twelve years ago, when my parents divorced, I was furious. Six years later, when my dad remarried, I was equally as disgruntled, as I hardly knew my new step-mother and was reluctant for the change. Little did I know at these times that such changes were true blessings because they led to the creation of the family I now love and cherish above all else.

Unlike many divorces, my parents separation was civil and they didn’t allow things to get ugly. Today, my parents are friendly, and what’s more, my mum and J, get along fabulously. Both women are incredibly considerate and accepting, which I think is why their relationship works so well. They are masters at adapting and ignoring norms, which means that no one has to choose sides, be excluded or feel awkward about anything.

As Thanksgiving gets nearer, I am especially thankful for these two women, who have made it possible for us to have a complete family. Their courage to set aside any awkwardness has made the difference time and again.

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Journey Journal #180: family matters

Snap your Thoughts Here

