Daily Journey Journal #157: admiration

From October 31, 2014

It’s Halloween, the day for candy, costumes, pumpkin carving and, this year at least, the day David Sedaris comes to town. I first read one of his books in college and fell in love with his writing style. Normally, I don’t read a lot of non-fiction or memoir. I prefer to disappear into fictional lands and lives, to cut the ties bringing me back to reality. With David Sedaris, however, I laughed myself sick page after page and found myself looking for more when I reached the last word. So, when my Mum emailed me to say he was coming to town, I simply had to go listen to his reading.

Listening to him read from his books and then from his journal, I was struck as both a reader and a writer. As a reader, I itched to dive back into his books- there are a couple I have yet to read. As a writer, I was filled with admiration and inspiration. His ability to take the mundane and turn it into a story, his keen observations turned into witty passages, they are perfect examples and reminders that in life you don’t have to have spectacular things happen to you in order to write interesting things. A conversation, retold in a certain light becomes as fascinating as a tale of travel half-way around the world. It is all in the retelling.

Snap your Thoughts Here

