Daily Journey Journal #145: traveler’s chant

From October 19, 2014

 

Ninety minutes until our train departs. Fifty four kilometers until Bangkok.

Seventy one minutes until our train departs. Forty nine kilometers until Bangkok.

Sixty three minutes until the train departs. Forty five kilometers until Bangkok.

Don’t panic, I tell myself.  And for goodness sake, stop watching the clock!

I glance outside the front window and my stomach plummets. There is nothing but a sea of red brake lights for as far as I can see. Four lanes of traffic creeping along. Hiccups in travel plans are all part of the game, I know, but they are just so stressful. I dread them and after twelve hours of travel via boat and bus already, I just want to jump on that train to Chiang Mai and pass out until we arrive.

Fifty eight minutes until the train departs. Too many kilometers to Bangkok.

Silently I begin to chant, We will make it. We will make it. We will make it.

Thus far on our trip Lady Luck has been with us, helping us to make all our connections and find our way. I beg her quietly to see us through this too.

We will make it. We will make it. We will make it.

Forty five minutes until the train departs. We are in the outskirts of Bangkok.

Oh, please, let us make it…We will make it. We will make it.

If we get there in the next fifteen minutes, A says, then we’ll make the train.

Forty minutes until the train departs. Things are starting to look familiar.

Make it. Make it.

Thirty seven minutes until the train departs. Come on light, change!

Thirty three minutes….and there, I see the street. We WILL make it!

A and I bolt from the bus just as the clock hits the thirty minute mark. Miraculously, our bags have already been pulled from beneath the bus and there are cab drivers waiting on the sidewalk. We stuff our bags in the taxi, drive like crazy through town and arrive at the train station with mere minutes before the train departs. Tickets already bought, we walk as fast as possible with our luggage and board right on time, the last passengers to make it on our car.

We made it. We made it. We. Made. It.

I climb up onto my bunk and heave a sigh of relief. Lady Luck, thank you!

Sometimes all it takes a some positive thinking and luck to make it through. We will make it!

Snap your Thoughts Here

