Share Your World 2014-Week 38

It’s been a while since I’ve had time to check out Cee’s awesome challenges. I came across this one today and loved the questions, and since I’m trying to distract myself from freaking out about cleaning/packing/leaving, it seemed like to perfect time to do it.

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

I would plant a birch tree. In the front yard of the house where I grew up we had a beautiful birch that my younger brother and I played under for hours and hours every summer. It seemed like a magical place under the tree. I loved the way the branches hung off it in small, flexible arches. I loved the shape of the jagged-edged leaves, the puffy seed pods and the color of the bark.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?

I think I would ask them to help me vacuum because it is my least favorite chore and then when we were done tidying up I would make some coffee and chat with them. I’m sure that someone who gets to go into other people’s houses (even if it is for yucky cleaning) has some interesting stories to tell. Plus, I would feel bad for asking them to vacuum as it is really no fun.

If you could have an endless supply of any food, what would you get?

If I could have an endless supply of food I would get fresh fruit. Fruit in Korea is really on the expensive side of things and so we haven’t been able to buy as much of it this summer as I usually do in the States. I miss fruit so much and crave it, but with autumn on the way, there is little to be found at the moment. Fruit, yummy, juicy fruit.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

My first job was working as an office assistant in an engineering accounting office at the university. I worked there for seven years and learned an incredible amount about accounting, including that it is not the job for me. It is so stressful and the work just keeps coming, especially at the end of the fiscal year. However, the people I worked with were fabulous. They were such a nice group and were flexible with my hours. It was a fantastic job.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

This week I am grateful I got to Skype with my best friend from home. She has been on a whirlwind graduate studies program all over the world and with the time differences and varying schedule, we haven’t had time to talk since last fall. Catching up was super fun and I can’t wait to meet up with her for coffee in real time!

Right now I am looking forward to meeting the new teachers for our school and for the start of my next adventure with A as we travel all over Asia. So much change is coming and I’m starting to get excited for it!

One thought on “Share Your World 2014-Week 38

Snap your Thoughts Here

