Daily Journey Journal #100: literary lessons for life

People are afraid to pursue their most important dreams, because they feel that the don’t deserve them, or that they’ll be unable to achieve them

~The Alchemist

Paulo Coelho

During high school I was introduced to The Alchemist in a fantastic English class featuring a number of fabulous books about journeys around the world. Many of the titles we read have slipped my mind, but the The Alchemist is not one of them. My first reading of it left me with such an intense sense of peace and hope for the future that it was impossible to forget. The message and storyline were so simple, yet so elegant and beautiful. Every page seemed to contain an important lesson for life, so many lessons in fact, that I could not take them all in during my brief reading. So, I tucked the title away in my memory for future reference.

At a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what’s happening to us and our lives become controlled by fate. That is the world’s greatest lie.

While the exact happenings in the story faded, the feeling I had about the book remained, and so a few weeks ago, I picked up the book again. Life had started feeling a little out of balance and internally I was battling myself. I was unsure of the choices I needed to make and feeling unsure of the person I am. I needed some advice, a piece of logic to clear my perspective, a bit of wisdom to shed some light.

Making a decision was only the beginning of things. When someone makes a decision, he is really diving into a strong current that will carry him places he had never dreamed of when he made the decision.

In a matter of moments I was wrapped into the gentle pages of the book, its words soothing my worried heart. The lessons I so dearly needed to hear in those moments slid easily from the page, smoothing my anxieties and bringing a ray of faith to my doubts. I am not a religious person and have never found comfort in reading religious texts, but I’ve found that this book offers me the messages and peace that many people gain by reading their texts of faith.

When you want something all the universe conspires in helping you achieve it.

I’m almost finished with the story now and once again I am feeling peaceful and calm about the future and who I am. There are still a billion decisions to make, but I feel like I have the sturdy foundation and clear perspective I need to voyage on in pursuit of my own Personal Legend, wherever it may take me.

Your Personal Legend, it’s what you have always wanted to accomplish. Everyone, when they are young, knows what their Personal Legend is. They are not afraid to dream and to yearn for everything they would like to see happen to them.

Snap your Thoughts Here

