Virtual Blog Tour

Several weeks ago WoollyMuses nominated me for the Virtual Blog Tour, naming August 25 as my posting date. Unfortunately, I missed the date so my post is one week late.

There are three rules for the tour:

1. Compose a one-time post which is posted on Monday (date will be given to you from whoever passes on the tour)

2. Answer four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do.

  • What am I working on?
  • How does my work differ from others of its genre?
  • Why do I write/create what I do?
  • How does your writing/creating process work?

3. Pass the tour on to up to four other bloggers. Get their permission first, give them rules and a specific Monday to post.

 

Before I begin I would like to say, I am very honored and happy to have been nominated. Thank you WoollyMuses for thinking of me!

Creative Process

1. What am I working on?

At the moment, I am working on a little of this and a little of that. Three months ago I started a daily journal post which keeps me pretty busy in between teaching classes. Every week I also post a feature called Everyday Trifles, which usually highlights photographs from in and around Yeosu, South Korea, where I currently live. Outside of my blog I am gearing up for a month long trip around Southeast Asia before relocating back to the United States. Once I am settled, I hope to start working on compiling my best photography and writings from this last year, mostly as a keepsake.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Hmmm…this is a hard question for me. I think the biggest way my work differs from others is that I do not necessarily focus on one thing, so I do not really have a clear-cut genre. My blog is all about bringing together stories, both fictional and memoir with photography and tid-bits from life. Because the majority of my work on this blog comes from the journal posts, it changes every day depending on how I’m feeling and what has inspired me each day.

3. Why do I write/create?

For almost as long as I can remember I have been creating something: stories, paintings, drawings, photographs. Writing and creating are simply what I do, they are part of who I am. As a kid stories and art were a way of self-entertainment. Later, as a teenager and on into university, creating was cathartic and a way to de-stress. Today, writing and creating are both of these things.

4. How does my writing/creative process work?

Most of the time I see or hear something that gets the creative gears turning in my head. It is rare to find me without a notebook and pen, so anytime I stumble upon something that inspires me, I jot it down. I’ve found that often my work comes from the simple day-to-day happenings around me and that once I start writing or taking pictures, the creative side of myself takes over, guiding my hands and thoughts. In the last few months I’ve found that creating a daily post has really encouraged me to keep my creative process working all the time. I am always looking at the world around me for the next story or photograph.

 

I would like to nominate the following bloggers for a Virtual Tour post on September 22:

VernetteOutLoud

Sweet Fiction by Blake

“You Must Suffer Me to Go my Own Dark Way”

The Indecisive Eejit

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Virtual Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Award – Virtual Blog Tour | Endless Skys

  2. Pingback: Virtual Blog Tour | VernetteOutLoud

  3. Pingback: Virtual Tour Revisited | Snap Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Virtual Blog Tour | The Indecisive Eejit

Snap your Thoughts Here

