Daily Journey Journal #42: typhoon season

Fog rolls in from the ocean, thick and full of whispers. It fills the canyons between buildings, erasing their mountainous backdrop and blurring their tops. The air is wet, heavy; both warm and cool. I can feel it clinging to my skin as I walk through the streets, heading home.

foggy day 1

Growing up on the high, dry plains, I haven’t had much experience with the wetter, rainier, oceanic version of weather issues. Wildfires, drought, raging blizzards, bone-shattering thunderstorms, those are all old hat for me. I know what to do when a blizzard blows in. I know what to expect when smoke blows in from the fires. I know when to look for those early, early morning thunderstorms that send me deep under the blankets while lightening splits the sky. Typhoons, hurricanes and tsunamis, on the other hand, are all unknown elements for me.

foggy day 2

Tonight, as I find myself on the cusp of a typhoon, my first typhoon, I am marveling at the fog, wondering if I should be concerned. The storm is predicted to mostly miss South Korea and head into Japan instead, yet, if the plains have taught me anything it is that all weather is unpredictable at times. It feels as if I should be preparing myself in some manner or readying the apartment, or at the very least, worrying. Yet, everyone around me, everyone who knows tsunamis as well as I know blizzards, is going through their routines, normal as normal can be. It has me wondering if perhaps this fog is like smoke from wildfires, a mere predecessor to something that in all likelihood will not reach me. Perhaps this is simply the wetter version ofย  my summers of smoke and ash, but this time with fog and rain. I suppose only the next few days will tell, so here we go, into the wettest season I will have ever lived through.

foggy day 3

10 thoughts on “Daily Journey Journal #42: typhoon season

  1. Pingback: Daily Journey Journal #44: Inspirational Blogger Award | Snap Thoughts

  2. This is a very reflective and interesting post, especially the way you make the comparisons with your own experiences and familiarities.

    It certainly sets the scene of how different weather and attitudes are in different parts of the world – how the unfamiliar is “old school” to those who know, having lived through their versions of “smoke and ash.”

    Really wonderful imagery ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I hope that your remaining time in Korea is safe and weather-event free.

    • Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚ The typhoon passed and now it is sunshine for the next few days ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t decided which is harder- smoke or rain. The smoke burns my lungs but doesn’t necessarily stop me from going outside while the rain causes me no harm but keeps in inside…I guess by the time I leave Korea I’ll know the answer to that!

      • Lol —- but not at the seriousness of the implications of the comment, but rather, at being able to decide only afterwards.

        I had the interesting fortune to drive through a stretch of highway that had been engulfed in forest fires, on either side, and were still burning – and I have to say, despite being allowed to safely pass through, it was indeed a very strange experience. The heaviness of the smell of the smoke and of course, the mass of it still lingering – so in some small way, I can relate.Personally, I’d take the rain – but not anywhere near the strength of a typhoon!

      • Yikes! Driving through a forest fire is intense! The last few summers the mountains 45 minutes from my home town have been seriously damaged from fires. Last summer the fires in Colorado filled our sky with smoke and once in a while ashes fell from the sky. It is a super freaky experience, but it sort of became normal, sadly. I suppose the rain will be like that maybe…:)

      • Well, we were allowed to drive through, so it was deemed safe, although the fires were still burning in the distance —- but I do understand about the smoke and ash — what threw me for a loop was the intense heat.

        Here’s hoping all your future weather experiences in Korea are not dangerous or overwhelming.

Snap your Thoughts Here

