Daily Journey Journal #18: positive quote

Standing up for myself has always been incredibly difficult. I am much more likely to roll over and give into someone else’s will than to stand up and say, ‘That violates my rights.’ or ‘It is time to stop taking advantage of me.’. This week I finally worked up the courage to stand up for myself and my co-worker in light of an ongoing situation at work. Calling out my Boss was nerve-wrackingly difficult for me as I really dislike confrontation, but after a calm, yet opinionated conversation, we came to an agreement. Woot! Success! In light of this rarity in my life, I’d like to share a few quotes about calling out injustices and working towards a more equal world, even if that world is simply inside one work place out of millions in the world.

“Each time a person stands for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, they send a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring, those ripples build a current which can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance.”

Robert F. Kennedy

“Most of our obstacles would melt away if, instead of cowering before them, we should make up our minds to walk boldly through them.”

-Orison Swett Marden

“If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it. If you don’t ask, the answer is always no. If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.”

-Nora Roberts

 

KiwiBee

8 thoughts on “Daily Journey Journal #18: positive quote

  1. I want to add that I wish I had the courage you exercised today when I was younger. To this day, I try to side step or avoid confrontations.
    Congratulations on your successful attempt!
    http:millieannelowe.wordpress.com

Snap your Thoughts Here

