Daily Journey Journal #4: list your top 15 fears

Daily Journal

“There are two kinds of fears: rational and irrational- or in simpler terms, fears that make sense and fears that don’t.”

― Lemony Snicket

Fears, both rational and irrational:

1. Cows~ a cow grazing is one thing, but a cow charging and chasing you up a mountain trail is another thing entirely!
2. Strange dogs~ I love dogs I am familiar with and have found that in most cases dogs are completely friendly,  but it sends my panic levels soaring for a few seconds when confronted with a dog I do not know.
3. Creepy-crawlies in general and spiders in particular~ there is just something about all those legs that makes my skin crawl.
4. Millipedes in broccoli~ this is a new fear steaming from a recent event in which dinner preparation came to a screeching halt when one such creature stuck its head out of my head of broccoli.
5. Insects swarming my living space~ bugs really just aren’t my thing and this would be the pinnacle of horrors for me.
6. Making a mistake that will ruin my whole life~ could one mistake really destroy the entirety of my future years? Probably not, yet it is a fear that rears its head every once in a while.
7. Walking alone in the dark~ the just generally makes me feel vulnerable and makes me jumpy. I try to avoid this whenever possible and if it can’t be avoided, I stick to busy streets.
8. Strangers being in my living space~ I’ve seen a few too many ads for horror movies in which creepers are inside someone’s house. How freaky would that be?! Being home alone at night usually spurs this fear into action.
9. Depressions~ it wasn’t really that fun before and I dread it ever returning. So, I’m always working now to safeguard against it returning.
10. Not being prepared for my first ‘real’ job~ After spending five years at university and working so hard for my education, I just fear realizing that I am completely unprepared for real life and real jobs.
11. Blistering sunburns~ they hurt so much! Plus, the more often I burn, the more concerned I am about skin cancer.
12. Being alone forever~ a few hours of solitude is ok, but a lifetime, not so much.
13. Loosing my mobility~ moving around, running, hiking, biking, are some of my greatest pleasures in life. Not having this luxury would be an incredibly difficult road bump to overcome.
14. Loosing my memory~ imagining this fills me with a deep sadness. No knowing my loved ones, forgetting our memories and erasing from my mind all life’s experiences is painful. Having watched several friends and family members go through this, it is not a fate I wish for anyone.
15. Loosing those I love suddenly, without warning~ the stems from the history of suicide in my life. Both my grandpa and cousin lost their lives to suicide and left me with an anxiety about everyone I know following that same path.

“Expose yourself to your deepest fear; after that, fear has no power, and the fear of freedom shrinks and vanishes. You are free.”

― Jim Morrison
Snap your Thoughts Here

