Day 28: Create a New Feature

Living in a country outside my own I often find myself marveling at the things that my neighbors barely notice. Gardens on the mountainside, dilapidated houses crumbling next to new apartments,  scooters driving on sidewalks, ajamas picking up trash, people tossing cigarette butts out car windows…everything is different from home.  I seek these things when I set out with my camera and make note of them on my mental lists of story ideas as I walk to work. I am fascinated by merely walking down the street.

It is with this in mind that I read the assignment for day 28: create a new feature. When I first read the assignment, I wasn’t really sure what to do, as I will be leaving Korea in less than five months. It seemed silly to start a feature about Korea only to have to change the focus when I move back to the States. And then, I started thinking. I realized that I see these mundane scenes as amazing simply because I am unaccustomed to them, but such day-to-day marvels can happen anywhere in the world, so long as I open my eyes and really see rather than skim over my surroundings. Beauty, monuments, adventure can all be found in my own backyard, my daily route to work, the town I’ve walked a million times, if I look with new eyes. This, finding the marvel in the mundane, will be the focus of my weekly writing/photography feature. I am still playing with names for the feature and would love any feedback. Right now I am considering Thursdays Around Town. This Thursday I will post my first feature.

Thank you for any comments!

 

10 thoughts on “Day 28: Create a New Feature

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I’m the only one of my friends who didn’t grow up in Brussels and even after all these years I still marvel at a lot of sights!
    I look forward to your first “feature post”! 🙂

    • That is so cool that you live in Brussels! It is such a beautiful city! I’m not sure I would ever get used to living in some of the cities in Europe because they are so gorgeous, Brussels included. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Taking clue from your post, I suggest – ‘Marvels in the Trifles’. Look forward to enjoy creativity arising out of simplicity in your coming post… Wish you Good luck!

  3. this is wonderful! maybe a widget or gallery widget “ordinary beauty.” “every day beauty.” i don’t know. but i so hear you about finding the marvel in the mundane. i often miss that living so fast paced in Los Angeles. can’t wait to see what you create!

  4. Pingback: Everyday Trifles: Life in the Past | Snap Thoughts

Snap your Thoughts Here

