The Liebster Award

liebster-award1It’s the end of a rather busy week and what a lovely end it is! Yesterday I was so kindly nominated for the Liebster Award by analinden. Thank you so much for the nomination!

Here are the basic steps for the award:

  1. Thank the nominating blogger
  2. Answer the 11 questions he or she asks
  3. Nominate 11 other bloggers for the award, preferably bloggers with fewer than 500 followers
  4. Ask these bloggers 11 questions
  5. Let these bloggers know that you’ve nominated them

 

So, without further ado, here it goes!

1. Thank you so much Ana Linden for the nomination. It was very kind and definitely made my day. I enjoy reading your writing  and especially enjoyed your recent Driving Miss Shy-Part 1. Thank you for the fabulous stories.

2. Here are my answers to the 11 questions.

  • What three places describe you best?

Mountain trails with not another soul in sight

Wide open plains with wind whistling through the grass

Big, blue skies as far as the eye can see

 

  • There must be an author or book close to your heart; would you like to share this information with us?

Like many people my age, the Harry Potter books hold a special place in my heart. As a kid, I loved stories, but reading was a whole different story. For years I was in remedial reading, lagging behind my classmates. And then, the year I turned 11,  my mum read the Harry Potter books to my little brother and me. I loved them so much that I was more determined than ever before to understand the words dancing on the pages before me. By the time my twelfth birthday arrive,  I had gone from hardly being able to read to reading like nobody’s business. Harry Potter was my gateway book to the wonder of reading.

 

  • What is your dream destination, that mysterious place you always wanted to visit?

Hmmm…this is a hard one for me. I love traveling and want to visit anywhere and everywhere. In the next few months I will visit Japan and hopefully Thailand, Cambodia, Micronesia and China. For as long as I can remember, however, I have wanted to visit India. So many of the novels I love are set in India and some of my favorite authors call that great land home. The rich, colorful world their words paint have made me yearn to see it with my own eyes all the more.

 

  • Where did you spend the nicest vacation?

The nicest vacation I’ve ever had was last year during my final spring break of university. My mum, my brother, his girlfriend and I climbed into the car and drove almost 16 hours south to the Grand Canyon for the week. We spent three days on the trails, taking in the glory of nature and soaking up the warmth before heading back to our still frozen tundra home. This trip is especially dear to me because it is probably the last with my mum and bother for many years to come.

 

  • What historical period would be best suited for your personality?

Caveman era? Medieval castles? Renaissance artistry? Hippies in the 1960s? While all those eras are intriguing, in all honesty, I can’t imagine myself living happily in any other historical period. While equality, rights and fairness are still subjects of discussion regarding their reality in the lives of women, in no other time would I have the wonderful freedoms and choices I have today. I am 23, living abroad, unmarried with my significant other, writing, teaching and taking pictures. In the past, these things just wouldn’t have happened. So, as much as the fictionalized and glorified medieval times intrigue me and the renaissance artists inspire me, I know that this historical period is where I belong.

 

  • Do you identify yourself with any artist(s), and if so, with whom?

I’m not sure I really identify with any artist so much as with an art style: Renaissance Impressionism. Monet and van Gogh are two of my favorite artists.  While living in France I was fortunate enough to visit the Louvre and see both of their works up close. The brush strokes, colors, styles, and emotions of the paintings are just beautiful to me. When the chaos of life swirls around me, I try to imagine it cast onto canvas by their hands.

  • What nice memory from your childhood would you like to share with us?

Some of my greatest childhood memories involve my grandfather, who moved to my hometown when I was nine, simply to be closer to us. He lived in an apartment one block away and every day after school he waited for me and my little brother. Almost every afternoon for four years we spent a couple of hours hanging out with him, eating cookies soaked in milk, playing card games or dominoes and talking. When I think of childhood it is his face I see most strongly.

 

  • What’s the greatest satisfaction you derive from blogging?

When blogging, my greatest satisfaction comes from being part of a community with shared interests. I love seeing other people’s work, reading their stories and visiting the places they’ve captured through the lens of a camera. Their work inspires me and the comments on my own work are a great source of encouragement. Thank you!

 

  • What are three of the most important principles you try to observe in life?

Three of the most important principles I try to observe in life are: being grateful, having compassion and remembering to smile. The first, being grateful, is a daily practice for me. Each night before sleep, I jot down one thing I am grateful for, one thing that made my day great. These small moments of recording allow me to reflect on all the amazing people and happenings in my life, even if they are as simple as sharing a good cup of coffee with my significant other.

The second principle, having compassion, is important to me because it is a path to happiness. As a teenager, I was struggling a lot and in an act of desperation, began reading books about happiness, as I seemed to have forgotten how to be happy. One of the books I read was the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness, in which he says compassion is essential. It helps us understand difficult situations and can allow for a breath of perspective in all situations. I’ve kept this lesson close to my heart and employ it on a nearly daily basis while dealing with issues at work.

The third principle I try to observe is to remember to smile. I read once that it takes more muscles in your face to frown than to smile and that by simply smiling you release endorphins and can bring about a wave of happiness. On gloomy days or in hard situations, I actively remind myself to smile and little by little, that wave of happiness helps to bring about some light to any struggle.

 

  • Do you like to plan everything or are you a spontaneous person?

Alas, as much as I would like to be a spontaneous person, I am undoubtedly a planner. In the last few years I have become more spontaneous, but my natural instinct is always, always to plan. Nonetheless, I seem to enjoy days and moments best when I don’t plan every detail and instead let life take its own course, leading me down new paths.

 

  • What do you prefer: a good book or a good movie?

Nine times out of ten I prefer a good book to a good move. Books take me deeper into other worlds and hold my interest for far longer than movies. However, there are days when I want nothing more than to be a bum and curl up on the couch to watch a good move, full of action, heroes, heroines and a sprinkle of drama.

 

3. My 11 nominations are:

  1. Drawing With Light~ http://katieprior.wordpress.com/
  2. A Day In the Life~ http://dailymusing57.wordpress.com/
  3. Oliviare~ http://oliviare.wordpress.com/
  4. Because I Can~ http://pavanneh.com/
  5. She Writes~ http://sheladyanne.wordpress.com/
  6. Sabethville~ http://sabethville.wordpress.com/
  7. Thoughts With A Side of Coffee~ http://thoughtswordscoffee.wordpress.com/
  8. Duke Stewart~ http://dukestewart.wordpress.com/
  9. Spirit Grind~ http://spiritgrind.com/about/
  10. Words and Other Such Dilemmas~ http://tgotsis13.wordpress.com/
  11. Forgotten Correspondence~ http://forgottencorrespondence.wordpress.com/

 

4. And here are my 11 questions. Have fun with them!

  1. What is the best part of being a blogger, writer and/or photographer?
  2. When you are reminiscing with friends, what is your favorite story to tell?
  3. What is your favorite place in the world?
  4. When you are looking for inspiration where do you search?
  5. Are you a morning person, a night owl or somewhere in between?
  6. What animal best represents your personality?
  7. What is the best book you have read in the last year?
  8. How would you characterize your relationship with your parent(s) while growing up? Did this change?
  9. What is the nicest thing anyone has ever said to you?
  10. What accomplishment in your life are you most proud of?
  11. What is the most listened to song in your music collection and why do you like it?

 

5. I’m looking forward to reading your posts! Happy blogging and happy weekend!

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. you are such a wonderful writer with a beautiful and endearing voice! thank you so much for the nomination. i’ve been reading and writing my “love it forward” liebster post. i really enjoyed reading yours 😊

  2. Pingback: the liebster award | spirit grind

Snap your Thoughts Here

